Home Currency

Currency in India (Kerala)

The currency of Kerala is Indian Rupee. Rs. 1, 2, 5 and 10 comes in coins. Rs 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 2000 are the currency note denominations in circulation. A rupee is further divided into 100 paise. Paise are available in the denominations of 5p 10p, 20p, 25p and 50p, though they are not in use now.

Symbol :

Currency  Code : INR

Credit/Debit cards are not accepted everywhere. So it is absolutely necessary to carry some cash. And have to be mindful of pick pockets too! Keep some loose change as you may need it for public transport.

Travancore Rupee

The Travancore rupee was a type of currency issued by the State of Travancore, now mainly a part of Kerala in South India. The rupee was largely a newer currency in comparison to the older currencies of Kerala such as the Fanams, Achus, Chuckrams as well as the Kasu (or Cash). Its creation was probably intended for the increased trading with British India and the high-value transactions therein.

The Travancore Rupee was the highest denomination of currency issued for general circulation. The highest face value issued was the ‘1/2 rupee’. While there had been plans to introduce ‘One Travancore Rupee’, this was never done.[1] The half-rupee and the quarter-rupee remained the highest values issued for circulation. The Travancore Rupee was issued until 1946 CE (1121 M.E. or Malayalam Era), remaining in circulation till 1949. It was replaced by the Indian rupee following Travancore’s accession into India.